Peace and Where to Find It

Peace and Where to Find It is a slim gem, packed with insight and wisdom. For fans of Eckhart Tolle, Peace takes up where Tolle’s The Power of Now leaves off, (and, in fact, Eckhart Tolle wrote the introduction for this book), but it’s not necessary to have read one to enjoy the other. The author, Christopher Papadopoulos, has clearly walked the walk, done the work, and come back to share his transformative experience with us.

Written in a Q and A format, this book is filled with anecdotes, gentle suggestions and lively examples, all designed to help the reader deepen their practice of inner awareness and staying in the present moment. We learn that we can control our reactions to problems, challenges, or sources of unhappiness, and that we don’t have to identify with the fluctuating emotions or inner voice that usually controls us. By cultivating inner awareness, we can choose to feel peaceful instead and to realize that our natural state of being is a pure, peaceful consciousness. This, in turn, paves the way for the higher emotions to prevail: peace, joy, and love.

Staying in the “Now” has been a hot topic in recent years, but Mr. Papadopoulos brings a breath of fresh air to it and finds new ways to engage the reader and encourage true progress in developing one’s own practice. Peace and Where to Find It brings real rewards and, if we follow the reasoning that individual peace leads to world peace, what better place to start than here?

Click here to order the book, or go to www.namastepublishing.com

For more about the author, go to www.intuitivesoul.com


Mindfulness In Schools Project

The Mindfulness in Schools Project began in the United Kingdom, but has spread to the US with its partner, Anima Learning. They’ve been featured on BBC, The Huffington Post, The Guardian and more. Started in 2009 as a non-profit by educators and long-time mindfulness practitioners Richard Burnett and Chris Cullen, MiSP seeks to help every child develop the skills needed to flourish fully and handle difficulty throughout life.

Read More.
Filed Under:

What is Mindfulness, by Linda Lehrhaupt, PhD

Mindfulness meditation has been described in many ways in recent years, but I still find that one of the definitions by Jon Kabat-Zinn, the founder of Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction, is very helpful. He says that mindfulness is “paying attention on purpose in the present moment, non-judgmentally. He added in an interview on YouTube…“as if your life depended on it.”

Read More.
Filed Under:

Deep Awake by Tim Freke

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Deep Awake is a wonderful addition to the fields of consciousness and spirituality. The author, Tim Freke, has put together a deceptively simple guide for “waking up” and living consciously. Unlike most of the genre, the ego, with all its strengths and weaknesses, is not vilified, but embraced. For those who have failed at prior efforts to meditate and reflect, this unique approach may help them to succeed.

Read More.
Filed Under: · ·

The Science Is In: Meditation Affects Aging and Telomere Length

Science is all about precision, controlled studies, and measurable, repeatable results. So for years researchers resisted working on alternative practices such as meditation, dismissing the few studies done as “fuzzy science,” “subjective,” or “impossible to duplicate.” But as research methods have advanced, so has the accuracy of the latest research. There is ample evidence now that stress leads to increased risk of health problems and that meditation reduces stress. What’s new are the studies showing how stress is related to aging and telomere length.

Read More.

Mindfulness for Parents by Amber Hatch

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Much like the benefits of meditation, the quiet wisdom of Mindfulness for Parents sneaks up on you. Amber Hatch has captured perfectly the pitfalls of parenting and the remarkable equanimity that can be achieved by practicing compassion, loving kindness and mindfulness. Whether you are new to parenting, new to meditation, or both – you will reap the benefits of Hatch’s insights and practical advice.

Read More.
Filed Under: · ·

Cops Learning to Meditate: a Hopeful Image

In this year of so many shootings, riots and negative images of police officers, it’s heartening to share stories of police men and women who are making a difference and trying new things to help the public and themselves. In Peel, Canada, police and trainees are learning to meditate (video) to reduce stress, and attending classes in mindfulness and Buddhist philosophy at a nearby temple. As reported in The Huffington Post, the event is expected to be the first of many future classes and will include future sessions with the Ontario Provincial Police and the Peel Paramedics. In a country where the charismatic Prime Minster, Justin Trudeau, is known to embrace yoga and meditation, there has been a groundswell of support for these methods.

Read More.
Filed Under:

Hale Clinic on Meditation: Research & Science

| by HaleMeditation.com

Centuries ago, yogis discovered that through the use of meditation and yoga practices, they were able to address physical, mental and spiritual imbalances that were arising in themselves. Many yogis maintained perfect health on all levels. The sacred knowledge of yoga has been passed down from guru to disciple for centuries and is growing rapidly in popularity in western society as people turn to yoga for answers to their medical and mental concerns. Ancient yogic techniques can be used in a fresh approach to living, as they address many of the problems that we all face in our daily lives.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Sounds Wonderful by Rick Heller

It’s common to meditate while listening to beautiful music, but I’ve found that meditating to ambient sounds—whatever sounds are present at this very moment—is not only a wonderful meditation, it provides a deep insight into where we can find joy in our lives. I lead weekly meditations at the Humanist Community at Harvard, and one of our mainstays is the ambient sound meditation. I first learned it myself when I attended a workshop by the Buddhist teacher Jack Kornfield. The idea is to pay attention to all the sounds around you with a friendly welcoming spirit. This includes the sounds of trucks and buses going by, sirens, coughing, rustling and other sounds that we typically label as “noise.”

Read More.
Filed Under:

Mindfulness as Medicine at Omega Institute

The Omega Institute is offering a “Mindfulness as Medicine” course August 14-19, 2016. Based on the tradition of Thich Nhat Hanh, the course is led by Sister Dang Nghiem, and other Plum Village Dharma teachers. From the Omega website we read: When we think about the past, we often feel yearning or regret. Mindfulness—sometimes referred to as meditation in action—helps us live in the present moment, where trauma, loss, and illness can be transformed with kindness and love.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·