Meditation: What IS the Real You? by Dada Jyotirupananda

Dada Jyotirupananda Dada Jyotirupananda (video) writes, “The book, “Meditation: Searching for the Real You” came out of my experience as a meditation teacher.

Why do I meditate? I first heard about meditation in my university days and gradually understood that it could help me in various ways.

Broadly speaking, I had two reasons for beginning meditation. First, I wanted to find some direction, as I was uncertain about most aspects of my life, whether my studies, my relationships or my future. As well, I wanted to understand the meaning of life. Why are we here, what should we do with our lives, where do we go afterwards?

From books, lectures and discussions I found that yoga philosophy answers these questions. But the answers may not work if they are just ‘in the head’. To truly live the answers, one needs to Practice meditation. Meditation takes one deep into human consciousness so that we can understand and live universal truths.

This book uses the metaphor of life as a journey and gives many tools that help you throughout the spiritual journey.

These tools support a core yogic truth: every being has its essential nature (called ‘dharma’). When we live our dharma, we really live.

We say, for example, that the dharma of fire is to burn. If a flame looks like fire, but gives off no heat, then I know it’s not really fire, despite appearances.

The dharma of humans is to seek happiness. Everything we do is to, directly or indirectly, find happiness.

Meditation ‘switches’ the mind from seeking temporary, immediate happiness to seeking long-term happiness. This book shows how you can be active in the world while still finding your inner, spiritual center.

Through yogic meditation, we learn to identify our self with our deepest level of being, with our universal consciousness. Seems like a tall order, but it’s easily do-able. While one needs a personal teacher to learn the practice, this book gives valuable guidelines, and helps you understand how to bring it into your life.”

What people say about this book:

Meditation: Searching for the Real You“ ‘Meditation: Searching for the Real You’ offers clear and persuasive encouragement to those beginning or preparing to begin the practice of meditation as a tool for the acquisition of self-knowledge. Dada Jyotirupananda presents a fresh, personal and well-informed approach to the practice of meditation that is sure to appeal to many.”

– Swami Abhayananda, author of History of Mysticism & The Supreme Self.

For more information, please visit www.londonandmeditation.org.uk


The Power of Meditation by Tim Walter

The power of meditation can no longer be in any doubt by even the most sceptical of sceptics. Details of a scientific experiment conducted at the Max Plank Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences in Leipzig Germany were published recently…. The experiment looked at how three meditation techniques affected the brains and bodies of more than 300 volunteers over nine months.

Read More.
Filed Under:

Delay or Reverse Aging with Qi Gong, Meditation, Yoga and More

There’s increased evidence showing that practices such as qi gong, meditation and yoga can not only prevent disease, but actually reverse it and delay aging as well. As scientists learn more about such topics as gene expression, what turns a gene on or off, and how to prevent telomeres, (the strands of protein in our cells that control aging) from unraveling, it becomes impossible to ignore just how much our good lifestyle choices can pay off.

Read More.

Tell Me A Story: Stirring Up Cellular Memories with Meditation

| by Cheryl Shainmark

I have been meditating for over fifteen years now and find it an essential part of my life. Many have written about the substantial physical and emotional benefits, and while I’ve certainly found that to be the case, too, I’ve also noticed that there is a component of releasing “cellular memories” that is rarely addressed. People shy away from phenomena that are not so easily explained, but whether you call it “cellular memories,” “past lives,” or releasing “old patterns,” I have found that there is something extraordinary happening that also brings welcome relief to the body and the spirit.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Meditation Saved My Life by Phakyab Rinpoche with Sofia Stril-Rever

In 2003, Tibetan lama Phakyab Rinpoche was admitted to the emergency clinic of the Program for Survivors of Torture at Manhattan’s Bellevue Hospital. After a dramatic escape from imprisonment in China, at the hands of authorities bent on uprooting Tibet’s traditional religion and culture, his ordeal had left him with life-threatening injuries, including gangrene of the right ankle. American doctors gave Rinpoche a shocking choice: accept leg amputation or risk a slow, painful death. An inner voice, however, prompted him to try an unconventional cure: meditation.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Peace and Where to Find It

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Peace and Where to Find It is a slim gem, packed with insight and wisdom. For fans of Eckhart Tolle, Peace takes up where Tolle’s The Power of Now leaves off, (and, in fact, Eckhart Tolle wrote the introduction for this book), but it’s not necessary to have read one to enjoy the other. The author, Christopher Papadopoulos, has clearly walked the walk, done the work, and come back to share his transformative experience with us.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Mindfulness In Schools Project

The Mindfulness in Schools Project began in the United Kingdom, but has spread to the US with its partner, Anima Learning. They’ve been featured on BBC, The Huffington Post, The Guardian and more. Started in 2009 as a non-profit by educators and long-time mindfulness practitioners Richard Burnett and Chris Cullen, MiSP seeks to help every child develop the skills needed to flourish fully and handle difficulty throughout life.

Read More.
Filed Under:

What is Mindfulness, by Linda Lehrhaupt, PhD

Mindfulness meditation has been described in many ways in recent years, but I still find that one of the definitions by Jon Kabat-Zinn, the founder of Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction, is very helpful. He says that mindfulness is “paying attention on purpose in the present moment, non-judgmentally. He added in an interview on YouTube…“as if your life depended on it.”

Read More.
Filed Under:

Deep Awake by Tim Freke

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Deep Awake is a wonderful addition to the fields of consciousness and spirituality. The author, Tim Freke, has put together a deceptively simple guide for “waking up” and living consciously. Unlike most of the genre, the ego, with all its strengths and weaknesses, is not vilified, but embraced. For those who have failed at prior efforts to meditate and reflect, this unique approach may help them to succeed.

Read More.
Filed Under: · ·

The Science Is In: Meditation Affects Aging and Telomere Length

Science is all about precision, controlled studies, and measurable, repeatable results. So for years researchers resisted working on alternative practices such as meditation, dismissing the few studies done as “fuzzy science,” “subjective,” or “impossible to duplicate.” But as research methods have advanced, so has the accuracy of the latest research. There is ample evidence now that stress leads to increased risk of health problems and that meditation reduces stress. What’s new are the studies showing how stress is related to aging and telomere length.

Read More.