The Apprentice Cards from Monique Fay, Photographer & Healer

Monique Fay is a pioneer and a visionary in the fields of photography and healing. Her practice, based in Santa Barbara, CA, offers a unique synthesis of skills, wisdom and experience. She is the author of The Book of Fay and has just released The Apprentice Cards, a wonderful set of healing cards geared toward inspiring insight and personal transformation. The photos are stunning, and the experience of working with them immersive and powerful.

From her website we read: The Apprentice Cards are a collection of 35 nature-inspired photographs that capture the essence of the 5 elements – EARTH, WATER, FIRE, AIR & SPACE. These five elements are the building blocks for our existence. Therefore, these Healing Cards create a profound interaction between the spirits of the natural world and the deepest parts of ourselves.

The Apprentice Cards return us to what the Ancients knew: To transform, we must engage the hidden truths that control our world, so that their wisdom may reveal itself to us. Through use of the Apprentice Cards, we are able to connect to the transformative power of the elements, bringing forth our inner clarity and enlightenment. These nature-inspired images act as a guide to translating this knowledge, thus gaining mastery over our life.

Monique Fay’s journey began as a mission toward self-healing in the late 60s, yet spiraled into an adventure of exploration and discovery, connecting her to the spirits and power that nature inherently holds. As a photographer, she has developed contemplatively, inspired nature photos over a span of nearly 50 years.

 


“Getting Off Drugs” from Mastering the Addicted Brain by Walter Ling, MD

Getting off drugs — detoxification, or detox for short — is the first step in overcoming addiction. It is often said to be the first step in the journey of a thousand miles — the long journey of recovery, or living a sane and meaningful life without drugs. Detox is where everyone who tries to overcome addiction begins, and it is the most common addiction “treatment” offered in this country. The sad truth is that detoxification is also where most people who try to overcome addiction stop. They fail to follow detox with relapse prevention, the necessary next step.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Your Life-Changing Story: The Story You Need to Tell by Sandra Marinella

We all have a story. Sometimes it is the story of being knocked to the ground – perhaps because of a cancer diagnosis or the death of a loved one. And if we aren’t careful a story like this can get buried within us. We can deny it ever happened and this might lead to physical or psychological problems. Let’s explore how we can find and begin to navigate a story we need to tell.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Expect the Unexpected by Bill Philipps: a Q&A with the Author

As a psychic medium who helps the deceased Bill Philipps had the kind of childhood that seems too tragic to be true — drug-addicted parents, parental kidnapping, homelessness. At age fourteen, he watched his mother die. Two days later she appeared to him, letting him know she was spiritually alive. It was the first time someone from the other side had communicated with Bill. It wouldn’t be the last. His book Expect the Unexpected: Bringing Peace, Healing, and Hope from the Other Side (New World Library, June 15, 2017), shares Bill’s amazing journey of going from a horrid childhood to becoming one of the most beloved, respected, and renowned psychic mediums in the world. He offers a firsthand account of how spirits communicate with him and how he works with them to convey their messages to their living loved ones.

Read More.
Filed Under:

Reclaiming Your Body: Healing from Trauma & Awakening to Your Body’s Wisdom

While the English language frequently refers to what our bodies know — “gut feelings,” hearts “reaching out” to others, etc. — many of us have learned to ignore, deny, or even mistrust our body’s inherent wisdom. Even worse, a lot of people don’t like their bodies very much at all. As a result, we often cut ourselves off from one of our greatest allies. In Reclaiming Your Body: Healing from Trauma and Awakening to Your Body’s Wisdom, author Suzanne Scurlock-Durana provides the tools and guidance necessary to reconnect with our body’s inner guidance system of sensation, imagery, and inner knowing. Her book includes chapters for each main “wisdom area” of the body — the heart, gut, pelvis, legs and feet, bones, and brain — and explores each area’s unique roles in the process of developing full-body presence.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Peace and Where to Find It

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Peace and Where to Find It is a slim gem, packed with insight and wisdom. For fans of Eckhart Tolle, Peace takes up where Tolle’s The Power of Now leaves off, (and, in fact, Eckhart Tolle wrote the introduction for this book), but it’s not necessary to have read one to enjoy the other. The author, Christopher Papadopoulos, has clearly walked the walk, done the work, and come back to share his transformative experience with us.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Back to the Mother: The Life of Sacred Music by Kalidas

Rooted in the Bhakti yoga tradition, my music became a way to honor the lives of some of the great beings that has made my life rich and meaningful. Bhakti yoga consists of channeling all of one’s energy to the Divine. The theory is simple: by thinking of the Divine, by contemplating the Divine, we can become Divine. Bhakti yoga sees the different religions as various paths to God. There are infinite paths actually because there are an infinite amount of beings in the universe. In this tradition, all are embraced. Every one of us has the seed of divinity, no matter how deeply it may be buried.

Read More.
Filed Under: · ·

Robert Waggoner on Lucid Dreaming

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

For the past seven years, Robert Waggoner has co-edited the quarterly journal, Lucid Dreaming Experience , and most recently has written a wonderful book titled Lucid Dreaming: Gateway to the Inner Self . He explains: “Through experimentation, I realized lucid dreaming could be used to get ‘unknown’ information; apparently from the deeper part of yourself or some kind of collective unconscious. Moreover, lucid dreaming could be used to explore deep spiritual concepts, focus healing intent on your body, seek out telepathic and precognitive information and learn about the nature of reality (from the unique perspective of being aware in the dream state). In my book, I take lucid dreamers to these deeper aspects of lucid dreaming…”

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Deep Awake by Tim Freke

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Deep Awake is a wonderful addition to the fields of consciousness and spirituality. The author, Tim Freke, has put together a deceptively simple guide for “waking up” and living consciously. Unlike most of the genre, the ego, with all its strengths and weaknesses, is not vilified, but embraced. For those who have failed at prior efforts to meditate and reflect, this unique approach may help them to succeed.

Read More.
Filed Under: · ·

Mindfulness for Parents by Amber Hatch

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Much like the benefits of meditation, the quiet wisdom of Mindfulness for Parents sneaks up on you. Amber Hatch has captured perfectly the pitfalls of parenting and the remarkable equanimity that can be achieved by practicing compassion, loving kindness and mindfulness. Whether you are new to parenting, new to meditation, or both – you will reap the benefits of Hatch’s insights and practical advice.

Read More.
Filed Under: · ·