“Getting Off Drugs” from Mastering the Addicted Brain by Walter Ling, MD

Getting off drugs — detoxification, or detox for short — is the first step in overcoming addiction. It is often said to be the first step in the journey of a thousand miles — the long journey of recovery, or living a sane and meaningful life without drugs. Detox is where everyone who tries to overcome addiction begins, and it is the most common addiction “treatment” offered in this country.

The sad truth is that detoxification is also where most people who try to overcome addiction stop. They fail to follow detox with relapse prevention, the necessary next step. Yes, detox is the first step in a journey of a thousand miles, but it is only one step. Alone, detox is not enough to overcome the dangers of relapse. Meanwhile, detoxification repeated over and over is like marching in place; it is not a journey and gets you nowhere. Detoxification may be good for a lot of things, but staying off drugs is not one of them. In my experience, detox almost always ends in relapse to drug use unless it is followed by relapse prevention.

The Difference between a Wedding and a Marriage

Another analogy for how to think of detox — crude perhaps, but not necessarily bad — is to consider the difference between a wedding and a marriage.

Deciding to enter a detox program is the equivalent to becoming engaged — in a real way, the person commits to giving up the life of being single. The wedding ceremony is the detox program itself. Though it’s no party, detox is also one of the biggest events of a person’s life, and this commitment is not made in private. To some extent, it is a public pledge to change forever, one that is typically overseen by professionals and witnessed by the person’s closest friends and family members.

Then what? Well, if you’re getting married, after the wedding remains the rest of your life, and the ceremony doesn’t have much to do with creating a successful  marriage. It doesn’t matter whether the wedding is simple or lavish, indoors or out, formal or informal. It doesn’t matter how much money you spend. Your wedding planner, and all the people you hire to get you through the ceremony, will move on to the next wedding, and after a brief honeymoon, you and your new spouse will be left to figure out how to be happy together and remain faithful. In other words, a successful married life depends on everything you do after the wedding. It depends entirely on the work you put in every day to create a satisfying life together. It depends on caring, loving, honest communication, through thick and thin, for better and for worse. The wedding is the promise of a lifelong commitment, but it’s not the commitment
itself.

It is the same with detox. During this ceremony, you get off drugs. But that is no guarantee you will stay off. How many people eventually divorce and become single again? Clearly, they were not ready to be married, or marriage was harder than they thought, or they chose the wrong person. To avoid relapse, you have to approach detox with the right attitude, and you’ve got to adopt this attitude before you get yourself to the church on time. Some people think they can have one last fix just before they give it all up and go into detox. That’s like having one last fling before the wedding, and it doesn’t bode well for what’s to follow.

Detox is the first step toward changing your brain and changing your life. But it will take much more than detox to stay off drugs and build a new drug-free life.

Pause

The central ceremony of a wedding is the exchange of vows. What are your vows for recovery? Whether or not you’ve already been through detox, take a few moments and consider what you have pledged to yourself. If you wish, write this down and keep it as a reminder.

Detox Treatment and Medications

Detoxification, with or without medications, is the most common treatment for addiction offered and received in the United States. People can undergo detox almost anywhere: in an inpatient facility or outpatient clinic, an upscale residence or their own apartment. Whatever the context, the goal is the same: to remove the person from the constant bombardment of drug exposure, to give them some symptomatic relief from the physical and psychological discomfort of not having drugs anymore, and most importantly to give the brain time to recover from the effects of repeated drug exposure.

Detox is physically and mentally painful. It involves suffering, but it’s a finite amount of suffering. It doesn’t go on and on and on indefinitely; eventually it ends, usually lasting a matter of days to maybe a week or two. However, for this reason, it’s almost never accomplished alone. The person going through detox needs physical and emotional support so as not to feel abandoned or have to face the ordeal alone. Misery loves company.

The use of medications in this setting is typically short term and only for relief of temporary symptoms, like physical aches and pains, anxiety, and sleep disturbances. An example of some typical medications are acetaminophen and ibuprofen for aches and pains. These medications are not meant to help you stay off drugs, though doctors might prescribe other medications for relapse prevention, which are continued after detox. See chapter 3 for more on the use of medications to prevent relapse.

Ultimately, however it’s handled, the goal of detox is to bring the person back to “square one,” where they can begin again.

 

Walter Ling, MD, author of Mastering the Addicted Brain, is Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry and the founding director of the Integrated Substance Abuse Programs (ISAP) at the University of California, Los Angeles. With board certifications in neurology and psychiatry, Ling has conducted clinical trials of psychiatric medications, acted as a consultant to the World Health Organization, and run a private practice listed in the “Best Doctors in America” directory.

Excerpted from the book Mastering the Addicted Brain. Copyright ©2017 by Walter Ling. Printed with permission from New World Library — www.newworldlibrary.com.


Your Life-Changing Story: The Story You Need to Tell by Sandra Marinella

We all have a story. Sometimes it is the story of being knocked to the ground – perhaps because of a cancer diagnosis or the death of a loved one. And if we aren’t careful a story like this can get buried within us. We can deny it ever happened and this might lead to physical or psychological problems. Let’s explore how we can find and begin to navigate a story we need to tell.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Expect the Unexpected by Bill Philipps: a Q&A with the Author

As a psychic medium who helps the deceased Bill Philipps had the kind of childhood that seems too tragic to be true — drug-addicted parents, parental kidnapping, homelessness. At age fourteen, he watched his mother die. Two days later she appeared to him, letting him know she was spiritually alive. It was the first time someone from the other side had communicated with Bill. It wouldn’t be the last. His book Expect the Unexpected: Bringing Peace, Healing, and Hope from the Other Side (New World Library, June 15, 2017), shares Bill’s amazing journey of going from a horrid childhood to becoming one of the most beloved, respected, and renowned psychic mediums in the world. He offers a firsthand account of how spirits communicate with him and how he works with them to convey their messages to their living loved ones.

Read More.
Filed Under:

Reclaiming Your Body: Healing from Trauma & Awakening to Your Body’s Wisdom

While the English language frequently refers to what our bodies know — “gut feelings,” hearts “reaching out” to others, etc. — many of us have learned to ignore, deny, or even mistrust our body’s inherent wisdom. Even worse, a lot of people don’t like their bodies very much at all. As a result, we often cut ourselves off from one of our greatest allies. In Reclaiming Your Body: Healing from Trauma and Awakening to Your Body’s Wisdom, author Suzanne Scurlock-Durana provides the tools and guidance necessary to reconnect with our body’s inner guidance system of sensation, imagery, and inner knowing. Her book includes chapters for each main “wisdom area” of the body — the heart, gut, pelvis, legs and feet, bones, and brain — and explores each area’s unique roles in the process of developing full-body presence.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Peace and Where to Find It

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Peace and Where to Find It is a slim gem, packed with insight and wisdom. For fans of Eckhart Tolle, Peace takes up where Tolle’s The Power of Now leaves off, (and, in fact, Eckhart Tolle wrote the introduction for this book), but it’s not necessary to have read one to enjoy the other. The author, Christopher Papadopoulos, has clearly walked the walk, done the work, and come back to share his transformative experience with us.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Robert Waggoner on Lucid Dreaming

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

For the past seven years, Robert Waggoner has co-edited the quarterly journal, Lucid Dreaming Experience , and most recently has written a wonderful book titled Lucid Dreaming: Gateway to the Inner Self . He explains: “Through experimentation, I realized lucid dreaming could be used to get ‘unknown’ information; apparently from the deeper part of yourself or some kind of collective unconscious. Moreover, lucid dreaming could be used to explore deep spiritual concepts, focus healing intent on your body, seek out telepathic and precognitive information and learn about the nature of reality (from the unique perspective of being aware in the dream state). In my book, I take lucid dreamers to these deeper aspects of lucid dreaming…”

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Deep Awake by Tim Freke

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Deep Awake is a wonderful addition to the fields of consciousness and spirituality. The author, Tim Freke, has put together a deceptively simple guide for “waking up” and living consciously. Unlike most of the genre, the ego, with all its strengths and weaknesses, is not vilified, but embraced. For those who have failed at prior efforts to meditate and reflect, this unique approach may help them to succeed.

Read More.
Filed Under: · ·

Mindfulness for Parents by Amber Hatch

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Much like the benefits of meditation, the quiet wisdom of Mindfulness for Parents sneaks up on you. Amber Hatch has captured perfectly the pitfalls of parenting and the remarkable equanimity that can be achieved by practicing compassion, loving kindness and mindfulness. Whether you are new to parenting, new to meditation, or both – you will reap the benefits of Hatch’s insights and practical advice.

Read More.
Filed Under: · ·

Qigong Meets Quantum Physics by Imke Bock-Mobius

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Qigong Meets Quantum Physics – Experiencing Cosmic Oneness by Imke Bock-Mobius Review by Cheryl Shainmark Qigong meets Quantum Physics is a wonderful integration of the various principles of qigong, mysticism, and the natural sciences. In the best Daoist tradition, Bock-Mobius has surmounted the duality of any discussion of religion (or philosophy) and science, and outlined her compelling vision of how it all comes together.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Space Creatures by Barbara Weisberg

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Space Creatures, by Barbara Weisberg, is an enchanting addition to children’s literature. Ms. Weisberg, author of three previous children’s books, has perfectly captured the whimsy of a child’s view of the world — in this case, the role of being an “Earthling” on this wonderful planet. Part science and part a study in self-awareness, Space Creatures tells a story of exploring the world, our Earth, and also introduces the idea of being part of a larger whole — the grandness of the Cosmos and our place in it.

Read More.
Filed Under: