Excerpt from Matthew Fox’s “A Way to God: Thomas Merton’s Creation Spirituality”

matthewfoxIn 2015, preeminent theologian and bestselling author Matthew Fox was invited by the Thomas Merton Center in Louisville, KY, to give a lecture to honor the centennial year of the legendary Catholic monk and writer’s birth. In preparing for the talk, Fox re-immersed himself in Merton’s work and revisited the correspondence he had with him while he was alive. As Fox read through Merton’s journals, poetry, and religious writings, he realized that his exploration was inspiring far more than just one talk.

The result is A Way to God: Thomas Merton’s Creation Spirituality, a powerful book about Merton’s pioneering work in deep ecumenism and interfaith; about his essential teachings on mixing contemplation and action; and about how the vision of thirteenth century mystic Meister Eckhart profoundly influenced both Merton and Creation Spirituality, which Fox has long espoused and written about.

We hope you’ll enjoy this short excerpt from the book, which explores the Four Paths of Creation Spirituality:

What are the Four Paths of Creation Spirituality and how real were they to Thomas Merton? In September 1968, he shared a circular letter that succinctly summarized the spiritual journey that the Four Paths represent: Our real journey in life is interior; it is a matter of growth, deepening, and of an ever greater surrender to the creative action of love and grace in our hearts. Never was it more necessary for us to respond to that action.

How do we grow, deepen, and surrender to love and grace and action? That is where the Four Paths come in and assist us in naming our deepest journey.

  • Via Positiva: This is the path of wonder and awe. Or as Merton begins: “Our real journey in life is interior; it is a matter of growth, deepening.” Awe is an inner response, an opening to the beauty and wonder of life and God.
  • Via Negativa: This is the path of letting go and letting be, of solitude and silence, but also of undergoing grief and sorrow; it’s an ongoing act of radical trust in the Divine. Eckhart calls it “sinking eternally into the One,” and Merton refers to it when he mentions “an ever greater surrender.”
  • Via Creativa: This is the path of celebration and creativity, of cocreating with the work of the Holy Spirit. Or as Merton says, it’s “the creative action of love and grace in our hearts.”
  • Via Transformativa: This is the path of compassion and justice; it is the way of the prophet who calls us to action. The Holy Spirit moves us not just to contemplate Divine compassion, but to enact it in the world in order to help others. Merton voices this when he says, “Never was it more necessary for us to respond to that action.”

There can be no question that Merton lives and writes a Creation Spirituality, and he dances through the Four Paths back and forth on a regular basis. His Creation Spirituality journey began about a decade before his death. In February 1958, he summarized the new path he felt he needed to take: The frustration of the American intellectual who can’t get along without a Europe that can no longer sustain him. (Yet — he is sustained, without knowing it, by his own latent vitality.) This has been to a great extent my own frustration as a writer — from which I escaped temporarily “upward” — into spirituality — but that was not enough, because it is not a matter of escape, but of incarnation and transformation.

In this moment, Merton was on the cusp of moving away from the Augustinian and Neoplatonic “upwardness” of his early years. That same year, 1958, Pope Pius XII died and Pope John XXIII was elected, and within a few years, Pope John would call for a Second Vatican Council to redirect the church. With the help of Meister Eckhart and D.T. Suzuki, Merton learned to redefine spirituality in a way that was more ecumenical and more prophetic, more grounded and earthy. He no longer “escaped upward” away from matter, but he reimmersed himself in incarnation and transformation. He moved from a “Climbing Jacob’s ladder” mentality so basic to patriarchy to a “Dancing Sara’s Circle” mentality that was far more democratic and grounded and bodily and feminist. As a monk, Merton moved from contemplation alone to the vocation of the mystic as prophet, or the contemplative in action. Clearly, it was a Creation Spirituality journey.

 

matthewfox2Matthew Fox is the author of over 30 books including Meister Eckhart, The Hidden Spirituality of Men, Christian Mystics, and most recently A Way to God. A preeminent scholar and popularizer of Western mysticism, he became an Episcopal priest after being expelled from the Dominican Order by Cardinal Ratzinger, who later became Pope Benedict XVI. You can visit him online at www.matthewfox.org.

Excerpted from A Way to God: Thomas Merton’s Creative Spirituality Journey. Copyright © 2016 by Matthew Fox.


#What is Sound Healing by Lyz Cooper

#What is Sound Healing? is a marvelous gem of a book, sure to inspire readers to hum, sing, chant, or drum their way to well-being. The second offering in a series from Watkins Publishing, this book combines intriguing case studies with simple exercises for practicing healing. Author Lyz Cooper has done a wonderful job of stockpiling a lot of information in a small book, and enlivened the topic with her own experiences in therapeutic sound healing.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Pacha’s Pajamas – A Story Written By Nature

| by Cheryl Shainmark

Pacha’s Pajamas – is a real treasure for children, parents, and teachers. Set against one girl’s adventures in nature, interacting with animals, this lively tale will capture kid’s imaginations. But it will also teach them about the environment and the global community, and leave them feeling engaged and empowered to make a difference in the world around them. Authors Aaron Ableman and Dave Room have really tapped into the spirit of the times, asking the most important question facing us all: how can we save this planet that we love?

Read More.
Filed Under:

#What Is a Near Death Experience by Dr. Penny Sartori

#What Is a Near Death Experience? Is a wonderfully informative new book by Dr. Penny Sartori, author of The Wisdom of Near Death Experiences. It is part of the new series, #WhatIs, from Watkins Publishing. Written in a Q and A format, and loaded with case studies, this latest volume is densely packed with research about the incidence and types of NDEs, as well as thoughtful reflections about what they may mean for each individual, their families and for the world.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

The Hidden Life of Trees

| by Staff

As reported in The New York Times, Peter Wohlleben’s book, a surprise hit titled “The Hidden Life of Trees: What They Feel, How They Communicate – Discoveries From a Secret World,” has verified what many nature enthusiasts, and virtually all native peoples have believed for years: that plants, in this case trees, have feelings too. Since the publication in 1973 of “The Secret Life of Plants,” by Peter Tompkins, enormous research has shown that plants hear, feel, and communicate in a variety of ways.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Health and the Honey Bee by Charles Mraz

| by C.Tallon

“For centuries, individuals stricken with some debilitating diseases, have been treated with bee stings in order to effectively treat their symptoms.” The life work of Charles Mraz, father of bee venom therapy.

Read More.
Filed Under:

Sidewalk Oracle by Robert Moss

| by Cheryl Shainmark

Robert Moss’s books are always wonderful — full of mystery and creativity, magic and glimpses of other worlds. But his newest offering, Sidewalk Oracle, seems to be particularly joyful. Sub-titled “Playing with Signs, Symbols, and Synchronicity in Everyday Life,” the emphasis here is on the playing. Filled with enchanting stories, examples of synchronicity, and other “winks” from the universe, the author captures the joy and wonder of being attuned to a broader, deeper reality.

Read More.
Filed Under:

Peace and Where to Find It

| by Cheryl Shainmark

Peace and Where to Find It is a slim gem, packed with insight and wisdom. For fans of Eckhart Tolle, Peace takes up where Tolle’s The Power of Now leaves off, (and, in fact, Eckhart Tolle wrote the introduction for this book), but it’s not necessary to have read one to enjoy the other. The author, Christopher Papadopoulos, has clearly walked the walk, done the work, and come back to share his transformative experience with us.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Tasting the Universe: People Who See Colors in Words and Rainbows in Symphonies by Maureen Seaberg

| by Simon Warwick‐Smith: www.warwickassociates.net

In her book, Tasting the Universe, Maureen Seaberg takes readers on an “Eat, Pray, Love” style exploration of this fascinating, newly discovered phenomenon. Occurring in about 5% of the American population, synesthesia is scientifically described as a cross-wiring, or lack of chemical inhibition, between brain neurons… A violinist sees a scarlet form when he plays a certain note. A rock star sees waves of blue and green as she composes a ballad, while an actress tastes cake when she utters the word “table.” This fascinating mingling of the senses is called “synesthesia,” and the people who possess this amazing gift are called “synesthetes.”

Read More.
Filed Under:

Feeling Great: Creating a Life of Optimism, Enthusiasm and Contentment

| by Dadi Janki, Peter Vegso, and Kelly Johnson

In an excerpt from Feeling Great: Creating a Life of Optimism, Enthusiasm and Contentment by Dadi Janki, Peter Vegso, and Kelly Johnson, the authors write: Optimism opens a door in difficult or hopeless situations. Optimism knows that there is always a way, no matter how many doors have been shut, and it believes that there is always a good alternative. No matter what the crisis, an optimistic outlook will tell you that the situation you are facing is a sign that you need to find a different way of thinking or a new way of doing things.

Read More.
Filed Under: