Peace and Where to Find It

Peace and Where to Find It is a slim gem, packed with insight and wisdom. For fans of Eckhart Tolle, Peace takes up where Tolle’s The Power of Now leaves off, (and, in fact, Eckhart Tolle wrote the introduction for this book), but it’s not necessary to have read one to enjoy the other. The author, Christopher Papadopoulos, has clearly walked the walk, done the work, and come back to share his transformative experience with us.

Written in a Q and A format, this book is filled with anecdotes, gentle suggestions and lively examples, all designed to help the reader deepen their practice of inner awareness and staying in the present moment. We learn that we can control our reactions to problems, challenges, or sources of unhappiness, and that we don’t have to identify with the fluctuating emotions or inner voice that usually controls us. By cultivating inner awareness, we can choose to feel peaceful instead and to realize that our natural state of being is a pure, peaceful consciousness. This, in turn, paves the way for the higher emotions to prevail: peace, joy, and love.

Staying in the “Now” has been a hot topic in recent years, but Mr. Papadopoulos brings a breath of fresh air to it and finds new ways to engage the reader and encourage true progress in developing one’s own practice. Peace and Where to Find It brings real rewards and, if we follow the reasoning that individual peace leads to world peace, what better place to start than here?

Click here to order the book, or go to www.namastepublishing.com

For more about the author, go to www.intuitivesoul.com


Robert Waggoner on Lucid Dreaming

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

For the past seven years, Robert Waggoner has co-edited the quarterly journal, Lucid Dreaming Experience , and most recently has written a wonderful book titled Lucid Dreaming: Gateway to the Inner Self . He explains: “Through experimentation, I realized lucid dreaming could be used to get ‘unknown’ information; apparently from the deeper part of yourself or some kind of collective unconscious. Moreover, lucid dreaming could be used to explore deep spiritual concepts, focus healing intent on your body, seek out telepathic and precognitive information and learn about the nature of reality (from the unique perspective of being aware in the dream state). In my book, I take lucid dreamers to these deeper aspects of lucid dreaming…”

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Deep Awake by Tim Freke

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Deep Awake is a wonderful addition to the fields of consciousness and spirituality. The author, Tim Freke, has put together a deceptively simple guide for “waking up” and living consciously. Unlike most of the genre, the ego, with all its strengths and weaknesses, is not vilified, but embraced. For those who have failed at prior efforts to meditate and reflect, this unique approach may help them to succeed.

Read More.
Filed Under: · ·

Mindfulness for Parents by Amber Hatch

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Much like the benefits of meditation, the quiet wisdom of Mindfulness for Parents sneaks up on you. Amber Hatch has captured perfectly the pitfalls of parenting and the remarkable equanimity that can be achieved by practicing compassion, loving kindness and mindfulness. Whether you are new to parenting, new to meditation, or both – you will reap the benefits of Hatch’s insights and practical advice.

Read More.
Filed Under: · ·

Qigong Meets Quantum Physics by Imke Bock-Mobius

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Qigong Meets Quantum Physics – Experiencing Cosmic Oneness by Imke Bock-Mobius Review by Cheryl Shainmark Qigong meets Quantum Physics is a wonderful integration of the various principles of qigong, mysticism, and the natural sciences. In the best Daoist tradition, Bock-Mobius has surmounted the duality of any discussion of religion (or philosophy) and science, and outlined her compelling vision of how it all comes together.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Space Creatures by Barbara Weisberg

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Space Creatures, by Barbara Weisberg, is an enchanting addition to children’s literature. Ms. Weisberg, author of three previous children’s books, has perfectly captured the whimsy of a child’s view of the world — in this case, the role of being an “Earthling” on this wonderful planet. Part science and part a study in self-awareness, Space Creatures tells a story of exploring the world, our Earth, and also introduces the idea of being part of a larger whole — the grandness of the Cosmos and our place in it.

Read More.
Filed Under:

A Talk with Linda Johnsen, author of Lost Masters: Rediscovering the Mysticism of the Ancient Greek Philosophers

Linda Johnsen, M.S., discusses her newest book, Lost Masters: Rediscovering the Mysticism of the Ancient Greek Philosophers. She is the award-winning author of nine books on ancient and modern spirituality, including Daughters of the Goddess: The Women Saints of India, The Living Goddess, and The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Hinduism. Hundreds of her articles have appeared in Yoga International, Yoga Plus, Yoga Journal, and other magazines.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

When the Impossible Happens: Adventures in Non-ordinary Realities by Stanislav Grof, M.D., Ph. D.

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

When the Impossible Happens is a fascinating, extraordinary book filled with eye-opening accounts of alternative states of consciousness. Stan Grof, one of the foremost explorers and authorities on consciousness, has written a memoir that is warm, personal and detailed. His insights into these non-ordinary realities and the potential they hold for transformation are incredible — and the stories are captivating.

Read More.
Filed Under:

What do Lions Represent? From “Whispers from the Wild” by Amelia Kinkade

A sense of belonging. They belong to this earth and they know it. They came to reign supreme, and they do so with an uncompromising sense of clarity. What if you could be the king or queen of your own life and rule with absolute authority? Wouldn’t you, as the alpha lion or lioness, bring a sense of being alpha — calm, confident, and in charge — not only to yourself but to the world around you? Excerpt from the book Whispers from the Wild: Listening to Voices from the Animal Kingdom.

Read More.
Filed Under: · ·

Cat Tales for Mariette by Michael Brown

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Cat Tales for Mariette: An Unexpected Friendship on the Camdeboo Plains of South Africa Cat Tales for Mariette: An Unexpected Friendship on the Camdeboo Plains of South Africa is a remarkable story of love and friendship: for people, for pets, for the wild and nature. Michael Brown, author of The Presence Process and Alchemy of the Heart has written a charming tale (or many tales) of love and loss, joy and death, and the foibles of humans and animals. He narrates the story of how he is coerced by a well-meaning local to visit one of the town’s residents who is dying of cancer in the local hospital. Michael reluctantly agrees to a one-time visit, which becomes daily.

Read More.
Filed Under: · ·