Old Dog by Nancy Mehagian

If you’re looking for a gift book for the children in your life, I highly recommend Old Dog by Nancy Mehagian, illustrated by Yoko Matsuoko. There are a million books about puppies out there, but this is the first I can think of that introduces children to the idea of a “senior” dog. Written with real warmth, the author has captured the joy and rewards of loving and caring for a beloved older pet.

Children will love the wonderful illustrations and enjoy the story of Boo Bear, the magnificent old dog who kind of looks like a teddy bear.  Adults will appreciate the thoughtful portrayal of how an older dog differs from a puppy both in behavior and care, but how the love – and the belly rubs! – is still the same.

The quote on the back of the book says it all: “Blessed is the person who has earned the love of an old dog.” For all of these reasons, I predict that Old Dog will become a treasured addition to your library.


The Mouth-Body Connection by Gerald P. Curatola, DDS

| by Cheryl Shainmark

The Mouth-Body Connection is a must read – whether you are suffering from chronic disease, or just want to bring your health to a new level, the information and insights in this book can help. Dr. Curatola has brought together thirty years of dental experience along with the latest science and developed a program for oral and body health  called The Curatola Care Program.  As detailed in the book, the program consists of learning about the natural micro-biome of the mouth, the hazards of inflammation, and the role of diet, exercise and stress reduction.

Read More.
Filed Under: · ·

Diamond Meditation by Peter Gruenewald, MD

Dr. Gruenewald has produced a guided meditation (audio), which is a spiritual and holistic approach to SUCCESS. The audio recording has multiple longterm benefits for the listener, particularly when the meditation is practiced daily for a few weeks. Diamond Meditation can help you achieving your full potential in life and to connect to your higher self, your inner source of abundant success in all areas of your life.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Peace and Where to Find It

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Peace and Where to Find It is a slim gem, packed with insight and wisdom. For fans of Eckhart Tolle, Peace takes up where Tolle’s The Power of Now leaves off, (and, in fact, Eckhart Tolle wrote the introduction for this book), but it’s not necessary to have read one to enjoy the other. The author, Christopher Papadopoulos, has clearly walked the walk, done the work, and come back to share his transformative experience with us.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Improve Your Relationship in Eight Minutes a Day by Linda Carroll

Falling in love is never a straight line to “happily ever after.” Relationships go through seasons of change, renewal, darkness, and light. So promises long-time therapist and couple’s coach Linda Carroll in Love Skills: The Key to Unlocking Lasting, Wholehearted Love, which offers specific, effective solutions to the most common struggles that couples face. We hope you’ll enjoy this except from the book.

Read More.
Filed Under:

Stalking the Wild Pendulum, by Itzhak Bentov

Bentov says: “I am attempting in this book to build a model of the universe that will satisfy the need for a comprehensive picture of ‘what our existence is all about.’….Referring to psychic phenomena, he says that he will try to explain the underlying mechanisms and explain how they may work.

Read More.

The Man Who Knew Infinity: Srinivasa Ramanujan, Intuitive Mathematician

The Man Who Knew Infinity is the remarkable story of Srinivasa Ramanujan, a brilliant Indian mathematician whose revolutionary ideas took Europe by storm during the years around World War I. The film, released in 2015, stars Dev Patel and Jeremy Irons, and is based on the book of the same name by Robert Kanigel. What made Ramanujan so amazing, were his deeply spiritual and intuitive leaps in fields for which he had no prior background. What made Ramanujan so amazing, were his deep spiritualty and intuitive leaps in fields for which he had no prior background. Ramanujan said that his insights came to him in dreams, which he quickly wrote down upon awakening.

Read More.

We Are the Luckiest: The Surprising Magic of a Sober Life by Laura McKowen

Before Laura McKowen got sober, she had a long, successful career in public relations in the Mad Men-esque drinking culture of the advertising industry, where “liquid lunches were frequent and drinking at your desk in the late afternoon was perfectly normal.” In the five years since she stopped drinking, she has become one of the foremost voices in the modern recovery movement. In her new memoir We Are the Luckiest: The Surprising Magic of a Sober Life (New World Library, January 7, 2020), McKowen flips the script on how we talk about addiction and encourages readers not to ask, “Is this bad enough that I have to change?” but rather, “Is this good enough for me to stay the same?”

Read More.
Filed Under:

The Time for Revolution is Now by Craig Kolavo

As I sat on the floor in my closet, unpacking boxes of dusty journals and notebooks I’d collected over the past 20+ years, the task at hand seemed overwhelming. How do I organize all of these life experiences into a coherent story? How do I put these events into a clear, chronological order for my kids to understand? You see, I had no plans to write a book. My original intention for writing was simple and somewhat selfish. I was hoping to explain to my children some of the discoveries I’ve made on this crazy adventure of life. Maybe all parents feel this way at some point. Why should my kids have to experience the same struggles, pain, and suffering I’ve been through?

Read More.
Filed Under:

Where War Ends by Tom Voss and Rebecca Anne Nguyen

After serving in a scout-sniper platoon in Mosul, Tom Voss came home carrying invisible wounds of war — the memory of doing or witnessing things that went against his fundamental beliefs. This was not a physical injury that could heal with medication and time but a “moral injury” — a wound to the soul that eventually urged him toward suicide. Desperate for relief from the pain and guilt that haunted him, Voss embarked on a 2,700-mile journey across America, walking from Milwaukee, Wisconsin, to the Pacific Ocean with a fellow veteran.

Read More.
Filed Under: