Excerpt from The Eagle’s View: Five Steps to Modern Mysticism by Paddy Fievet, PhD

As I mentioned before, I kept exploring the information that turned into this book because my initial Christian theology did not answer the many questions that plagued me for years. I had questions about awakening, questions relating to discovering who I was and what I was supposed to be doing on this earth. I had questions about my sense of intuition and why it was so dreadfully hard to explain it to friends and family in my younger years. I also had questions relating to a need to love and be loved. My initial theological training only taught me what seemed to be rote answers, worded in ways that I could not relate to my specific problems. I needed to go deeper, richer, and I needed to experience what I had been taught. God had to be not a theology, but an active, living process for me—a transformational encounter. I needed to relate to life from a transcendent perspective, not abstruse theological teachings. Most important, I needed experiences that positively affected me physically, spiritually, and psychologically. As I began to awaken, my studies led me into the realm of metaphysics as I searched for original causes and essential meanings as they relate to all creation. I had to find out what I truly knew within myself in order to separate it from what I had been told, from what had been imposed upon me.

Eventually, I began to understand myself from the inside, expanding the ordinary definition of self in order to embody life as a mystical experience. I not only consciously discovered my own version of a mystical connection, but began to rely upon it daily. As I began to live from the perspective of a Modern Mystic—from the perspective that I am Divinely connected and that my life is a very real experience of God—I realized that a Modern Mystic only needs to embrace five specific areas of understanding that serve as steps to a heart-centered, mystical life. However, the results of these specific steps have to come from the depth of a person’s spiritual passion. His or her unique answers are all that are ever needed.

  1. The First Step of Awareness: Where am I?
  2. The Second Step of Identity: Who am I?
  3. The Third Step of Expression: What Is My Purpose?
  4. The Fourth Step of Spiritual Artistry: How Will It Happen?
  5. The Fifth Step of Love: What is Love?

It’s not easy asking yourself these questions, not if you are sincere and genuinely want to discover your own potential. The questions have to be asked in order, also, because they build upon each other. One cannot start at the top of a staircase in order to ascend; the process has to start at the beginning. Therefore, to make these personal inquiries meaningful, one must start with inquiry one. From my own experience, if you do not begin this journey of mystical self-knowledge with the first step, the results will not be the same. This is not your normal self-inquiry. Instead, it’s an awakening, a spiritual undertaking that serves as a basis for living as a Modern Mystic.

___________________________

© Paddy Fievet, PhD, is the author of The Eagle’s View: Five Steps to Modern Mysticism, published by Cloverhurst Publications, 2017. Excerpt is printed with permission of the publisher. ISBN: 978-09906706-4-3. List price: US $14.95

 

 


Q&A with Brian Boxer Wachler, MD, author of Perceptual Intelligence

A talk with Brian Boxer Wachler, MD, author of Perceptual Intelligence: The Brain’s Secret to Seeing Past Illusion, Misperception, and Self-Deception. Brian is the world’s leading authority on keratoconus, refractive surgery, and creator of the revolutionary I-Brite® Eye Whitening procedure. He has devoted his career to the field of vision correction. For two decades, he has been a pioneering doctor with a thriving career in clinical, academic, and laboratory settings.

Read More.
Filed Under:

Spiritual Experiences in Lucid Dreams by Clare R. Johnson, author of Llewellyn’s Complete Book of Lucid Dreaming

In lucid dreams, we are aware that we are dreaming, and with this awareness, we can guide and shape the dream, or go with the flow of events. We may find ourselves flying over magnificent vistas, breathing underwater, transforming into an eagle, hugging a much missed deceased friend, or simply soaking up the astonishingly real imagery and sensations of being conscious in a dream world. When we engage lucidly with our dreams, we illuminate them from within.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

The Power of Eight by Lynne McTaggart

You may know Lynne as the author of books like The Field, The Intention Experiment, and now her newest book, The Power of Eight. An award-winning journalist and international bestselling author, Lynne wanted to learn more about the healing power of thought. Was it really occurring, or are the anecdotal stories we hear no more than the subjective experience of a few individuals? She didn’t expect a close, scientific look to reveal enough hard evidence to support people’s assertions.

Read More.

Q&A with Scott Stabile, Author of Big Love: The Power of Living with A Wide Open Heart

Author and Facebook sensation Scott Stabile’s parents were murdered when he was fourteen. Nine years later, his brother died of a heroin overdose. Soon after that, Scott joined a cult that dominated his life for thirteen years. Through it all, he became evermore committed to living his life from love. In this interview, Scott answers questions about his new book, Big Love: The Power of Living with a Wide-Open Heart.

Read More.
Filed Under:

“Getting Off Drugs” from Mastering the Addicted Brain by Walter Ling, MD

Getting off drugs — detoxification, or detox for short — is the first step in overcoming addiction. It is often said to be the first step in the journey of a thousand miles — the long journey of recovery, or living a sane and meaningful life without drugs. Detox is where everyone who tries to overcome addiction begins, and it is the most common addiction “treatment” offered in this country. The sad truth is that detoxification is also where most people who try to overcome addiction stop. They fail to follow detox with relapse prevention, the necessary next step.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Your Life-Changing Story: The Story You Need to Tell by Sandra Marinella

We all have a story. Sometimes it is the story of being knocked to the ground – perhaps because of a cancer diagnosis or the death of a loved one. And if we aren’t careful a story like this can get buried within us. We can deny it ever happened and this might lead to physical or psychological problems. Let’s explore how we can find and begin to navigate a story we need to tell.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Expect the Unexpected by Bill Philipps: a Q&A with the Author

As a psychic medium who helps the deceased Bill Philipps had the kind of childhood that seems too tragic to be true — drug-addicted parents, parental kidnapping, homelessness. At age fourteen, he watched his mother die. Two days later she appeared to him, letting him know she was spiritually alive. It was the first time someone from the other side had communicated with Bill. It wouldn’t be the last. His book Expect the Unexpected: Bringing Peace, Healing, and Hope from the Other Side (New World Library, June 15, 2017), shares Bill’s amazing journey of going from a horrid childhood to becoming one of the most beloved, respected, and renowned psychic mediums in the world. He offers a firsthand account of how spirits communicate with him and how he works with them to convey their messages to their living loved ones.

Read More.
Filed Under:

Reclaiming Your Body: Healing from Trauma & Awakening to Your Body’s Wisdom

While the English language frequently refers to what our bodies know — “gut feelings,” hearts “reaching out” to others, etc. — many of us have learned to ignore, deny, or even mistrust our body’s inherent wisdom. Even worse, a lot of people don’t like their bodies very much at all. As a result, we often cut ourselves off from one of our greatest allies. In Reclaiming Your Body: Healing from Trauma and Awakening to Your Body’s Wisdom, author Suzanne Scurlock-Durana provides the tools and guidance necessary to reconnect with our body’s inner guidance system of sensation, imagery, and inner knowing. Her book includes chapters for each main “wisdom area” of the body — the heart, gut, pelvis, legs and feet, bones, and brain — and explores each area’s unique roles in the process of developing full-body presence.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Peace and Where to Find It

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Peace and Where to Find It is a slim gem, packed with insight and wisdom. For fans of Eckhart Tolle, Peace takes up where Tolle’s The Power of Now leaves off, (and, in fact, Eckhart Tolle wrote the introduction for this book), but it’s not necessary to have read one to enjoy the other. The author, Christopher Papadopoulos, has clearly walked the walk, done the work, and come back to share his transformative experience with us.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·