The Mouth-Body Connection by Gerald P. Curatola, DDS

The Mouth-Body Connection is a must read – whether you are suffering from chronic disease, or just want to bring your health to a new level, the information and insights in this book can help. Dr. Curatola has brought together thirty years of dental experience along with the latest science and developed a program for oral and body health  called The Curatola Care Program.  As detailed in the book, the program consists of learning about the natural micro-biome of the mouth, the hazards of inflammation, and the role of diet, exercise and stress reduction.

For thousands of years traditional Chinese medicine has known to look at the tongue and the mouth as an indicator of a patient’s overall health. Dr. Curatola notes this, adding that now modern science has caught up with ancient wisdom. The author writes, “The mouth acts as a mirror and a gateway and reflects what is happening in the rest of your body, and the health of your mouth appears to have a profound impact on the rest of your body.”

As The Mind-Body Connection makes clear, chronic, low grade oral disease can sometimes result in serious disease throughout the body, including cardiovascular disease, type 2 diabetes, rheumatoid arthritis, COPD, some cancers, obesity, and more. According to Dr. Curatola, educating ones self about the role of the mouth’s biome – the good bacteria – is critical. Unfortunately, the recent overuse of anti-bacterial products that “kill 99% of germs” has had unforeseen consequences, including killing the beneficial bacteria as well. (And if you think your “natural” toothpaste or mouth wash are better, you may have to think again!) Just as we’ve recently discovered the importance of gut health, we now learn that maintaining a healthy bacterial balance in the mouth is critcal. Following the author’s 28 day program as outlined in this informative book is a sound and effective way to do it.

 


Peace and Where to Find It

| review by Cheryl Shainmark

Peace and Where to Find It is a slim gem, packed with insight and wisdom. For fans of Eckhart Tolle, Peace takes up where Tolle’s The Power of Now leaves off, (and, in fact, Eckhart Tolle wrote the introduction for this book), but it’s not necessary to have read one to enjoy the other. The author, Christopher Papadopoulos, has clearly walked the walk, done the work, and come back to share his transformative experience with us.

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Improve Your Relationship in Eight Minutes a Day by Linda Carroll

| by Linda Carroll

Falling in love is never a straight line to “happily ever after.” Relationships go through seasons of change, renewal, darkness, and light. So promises long-time therapist and couple’s coach Linda Carroll in Love Skills: The Key to Unlocking Lasting, Wholehearted Love, which offers specific, effective solutions to the most common struggles that couples face. We hope you’ll enjoy this except from the book.

Read More.
Filed Under:

Stalking the Wild Pendulum, by Itzhak Bentov

Bentov says: “I am attempting in this book to build a model of the universe that will satisfy the need for a comprehensive picture of ‘what our existence is all about.’….Referring to psychic phenomena, he says that he will try to explain the underlying mechanisms and explain how they may work.

Read More.

We Are the Luckiest: The Surprising Magic of a Sober Life by Laura McKowen

Before Laura McKowen got sober, she had a long, successful career in public relations in the Mad Men-esque drinking culture of the advertising industry, where “liquid lunches were frequent and drinking at your desk in the late afternoon was perfectly normal.” In the five years since she stopped drinking, she has become one of the foremost voices in the modern recovery movement. In her new memoir We Are the Luckiest: The Surprising Magic of a Sober Life (New World Library, January 7, 2020), McKowen flips the script on how we talk about addiction and encourages readers not to ask, “Is this bad enough that I have to change?” but rather, “Is this good enough for me to stay the same?”

Read More.
Filed Under:

The Time for Revolution is Now by Craig Kolavo

As I sat on the floor in my closet, unpacking boxes of dusty journals and notebooks I’d collected over the past 20+ years, the task at hand seemed overwhelming. How do I organize all of these life experiences into a coherent story? How do I put these events into a clear, chronological order for my kids to understand? You see, I had no plans to write a book. My original intention for writing was simple and somewhat selfish. I was hoping to explain to my children some of the discoveries I’ve made on this crazy adventure of life. Maybe all parents feel this way at some point. Why should my kids have to experience the same struggles, pain, and suffering I’ve been through?

Read More.
Filed Under:

Where War Ends by Tom Voss and Rebecca Anne Nguyen

After serving in a scout-sniper platoon in Mosul, Tom Voss came home carrying invisible wounds of war — the memory of doing or witnessing things that went against his fundamental beliefs. This was not a physical injury that could heal with medication and time but a “moral injury” — a wound to the soul that eventually urged him toward suicide. Desperate for relief from the pain and guilt that haunted him, Voss embarked on a 2,700-mile journey across America, walking from Milwaukee, Wisconsin, to the Pacific Ocean with a fellow veteran.

Read More.
Filed Under:

Winter by Marla Stone

An excerpt from The Clutter Remedy: A Guide to Getting Organized for Those Who Love Their Stuff, by Marla Stone. December is dominated by the holiday season, which often involves lots of parties, visitors, travel, and special meals. Maintaining an organized home is a particular challenge this month, given all the pressure to decorate, buy presents, host gatherings, and cook. This is when having a fine-tuned storing system will help a great deal, since it makes it much easier to find all those special-occasion holiday items.

Read More.
Filed Under:

Soul Star – Child of the Universe by Madeline K. Adams

Soul Star ~ Child of the Universe is a collection of quotes and poems from the Source and Soul Series. As the author explains, “Allow yourself to dip into these pages and read the poems you feel drawn towards. They each carry a message for you to trust in the dark mystery of the feminine; calling you to follow your heart and trust in the subtle messages that speak to you in the language of your soul.”

Read More.
Filed Under: ·

Neither Wolf Nor Dog by Kent Nerburn – 25th Anniversary Edition

| by Cheryl Shainmark

Neither Wolf Nor Dog is one of those profoundly moving books that makes a lifetime impression on the reader. If you don’t believe me, read the preface added for this newly re-released 25th edition. This book has changed the course of rivers, lifted the hearts of prisoners, and more intimately, unburdened one man of a lifetime of sadness. The author, Kent Nerburn, has written many books on spirituality and Native American themes, but this one is a stand out, and garnered its author the Minnesota Book Award.

Read More.
Filed Under: